A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

A recent fav from Art Sem

img032loresThis one is from my most recent final project, and one of my favorite models, Lori Ann. You’ll see quite a bit of her here as I will photograph her as much as I can before fall as she will be shipping off to the Navy in September.

Last semester I was in an Art Seminar class where we spent the entire semester working on a single project.  For this project, I was shooting 4×5 black and white film. I prefer the richness of the detail you get with the 8×10, but the only enlarger at the school that could handle 8×10 film was set up for 4×5, and there was a lot of competition for enlargers, and all of the students using large format film were using 4×5, so rather than create drama by hoging up one of the enlargers, I went with the flow and used 4×5.

The idea for the Art Sem class was to have a single cohesive body of work at the end of the semester. I succeeded in that I got an A in the class, but I feel that I failed because I was going back to square one every couple of weeks because I didn’t like what I was doing.  I love the photos I got from the series, but truth be told, I missed the mark on the premis behind them.

I’ll get around to posting the entire series eventually, but I still have to scan some of the negatives and prints yet…

One response

  1. thoroner

    This is great, I adore it! 🙂

    June 4, 2009 at 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

