A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

A year ago, I was in Maine.

Right image courtesy of Tim Kalvin, left image courtesy of Lori Ann McAdams

Right image courtesy of Tim Kalvin, left image courtesy of Lori Ann McAdams

One year ago I took a trip to Maine for a landscape photography class. We spent a week camping in Maine, mostly along the coast. We lived out of our tents and travelled by bus (it actually looked more like a bloated van) doing nothing but create photographs (and eat lobster). We spent the subsequent two months making prints from digital captures and film.

Most of my class shot digital, about a third of us used film…I was the only one that chose to lug around an 8×10 (plus a 35mm SLR, a digital SLR, and a Holga).

One of our stops was at Jordan Pond. As usual my class was well ahead of me having sped off like a group of Japanese tourists clicking away with their cameras while I was still setting up the 8×10 on the tripod. I slung it over my shoulder and took off looking for my shots.  I passed by a group of kids (teens) who were readying for a bike ride around the pond. My class had already passed them a few minutes earlier. As I plodded by, one of them said, “He must be poor, he has to use a wooden camera.” Well, you’re right, kid…but not for the reasons you think.

Leave a Reply

