A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

Because those damned zombies just aren’t going to kill themselves.

Sometimes I like to photograph inanimate objects. Still life and product photography are often a welcome break from portraits, weddings, and the like. With shoots like this, you don’t have to worry about people because well, frankly, people get on my nerves. I can smile and be polite, nod my head and keep my cool, but sometimes you just gotta get away from the rat race and just race rats.

The lighting set up for this shot was so stupid simple, you probably won’t believe me when I tell you how to do it. I don’t have my own lighting equipment. As a student at KCC, I don’t really need it. There is a professional lighting studio with both hot lights and high end stobres at my disposal. There are two portable lighting kits available for check out (one hot light kit and one strobe).

The downside is that it is generally only available during the semester. Sometimes the professor or parapro will let me keep an item over the break, but when I was shooting this photo, all I had was my own gear and that did not include any professional lights.

I lit this image using a 6 cell Maglite and a white pillow case. After I white balanced the DSLR for the maglite’s light, I set up the shot, and placed the camera on the tripod. I used the camera’s self timer to allow myself to get into position to act as a human boom. I placed the flashlight inside the white pillow case (the pillow case acted as a diffuser to reduce hard shadows and increase the size of the light source), turned off the living room light before the shutter opened, and waved the flashlight over the scene.  The shutter was left open for 30 seconds.

After the shutter closed, I examined the image and made adjustments in exposure and light direction. The shutter remained open for 30 seconds for all of the shots, I simply closed  the aperature down to get the correct exposure. I wanted to get a good bit of depth, so with a long exposure, the aperture would have to be closed down a bit to make a good exposure.

This one ended up being f/8 at 30 seconds 100ISO.

One response

  1. jonmassie

    Nice shot. Even better title! I use that a lot when folks ask me why I have so many guns, why there should be 30 round clips in the world and why assault weapons should NOT be banned. My response after logic doesn’t work? “Well then, what happens when the zombies come?” Never do get a response… 🙂

    June 7, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

