A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

A woman in uniform…

katieblues…my uniform, that is.

I only had one shoot with Kate. Her sister Emily had been modeling for me for some time, and brought her sister with her on one of the shoots.

She thought it would be fun to wear my dress blues, and I had a hankering for shooting a retro style military pinup/recruiting photo. This photograph is the result

Would you believe me if I told you this was a Polaroid?

I had a Mamiya Universal camera on loan from my professor and had fitted it with a polaroid back. This was shortly after Polaroid had announced that they were no longer producing instant film, and I had quite a lot of 669 pack film at the time.

I figured that the instant film would give me the look I wanted. The film is daylight color balanced, and I shot this in a studio using hot lights. This accounts for the warm muddy tones. After shooting, I scanned the 3×4 polaroid @ 4000dpi so I could make a substantial enlargement. I did color balance the image a little bit in photoshop as it came out much much warmer than I had intended.

Leave a Reply

