A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

Survivor’s Guilt

sgThere is a story behind these images that I don’t share with folks unless they are very close to me personally. The long story made short, I was involved in an incident in Iraq from which I walked away (well, survived) that others did not.

As such, I came home with a pretty healthy dose of survivor’s guilt.  Why was I permitted to live when other perished? Why did a young man with his whole life ahead of him and a newborn baby at home die? Why did a husband and father of 3 die?

The upside? The image on the right won 5th place at the West Michigan Art Exhibit in 2007

Leave a Reply

