A photograph is worth a hell of a lot more than a thousand words…

My “first model”

img035loresThis is Donna…well, this is Donna’s back.

Donna is the very first person to model for me. She & I were dating when I first got into photography. She is a photographer as well. In the summer of ’06, I suggested that we take a photography class together. She was a hobbyist photographer, but had not taken any formal classes.

I didn’t give a rat’s ass about the class, I merely suggested it as something for us to do together. The rest is history.

Donna and I are no longer together, but I still photograph her from time to time. this one, is actually from the At Sem project from last semester…

4 responses

  1. Good call on the sepia. Definitely brings out the skin textures.

    June 9, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    • Actually, that isn’t sepia. This isn’t a print, but rather a scan of the negative. I usually scan my black and white negs as a color negative. The result, depending on the type of film, is a pleasing warm tone.
      This film, by the way, is Illford HP5.

      June 9, 2009 at 10:45 pm

      • Large format? Very nice work. Good to see other serious film shooters.

        June 10, 2009 at 11:48 am

  2. Thank you. Yes, this is 4×5. Most of the large format stuff is 8×10, but budget constraints had me shooting the 4×5 last semester.

    June 10, 2009 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

